+ Follow This Topic

Thread: I am selfish?

I am selfish?

Hi, I’m new to this wonderful forum and have been reading a lot of posts and advices that have given me some insights on my own relationship. Currently there is something thats bothering me and I'm hoping to get some feedback or advice.

My current girlfriend(23) of 4yrs has recently become very miserable with whats going on with her life. Her relationship with her family was never good. There is always constant feuding between the family members. Christmas is never enoyable because they can't seem to get along. She doesn't like her job because all the female workers can't seem to get along. Everyone is always talking behind each others back or they do something that bother one another. I suggested for her to quit and maybe go back to school and get a better job or a Degree in something she might like. But, she's unsure what she wants to do as a career and don't want to waste any money in school. I try to be supportive and listen to her problems as much as I can, but its really taking a toll on me. Everyday its constant venting/complaining about the same issue over and over again. My suggesting on any of her problems are ignored. If I listen, nothing gets done, but I hear it over again the next day. Its getting to the point that I don't want to listen anymore and want her to leave me alone. I don't want to be rude, but honestly sometime I don't want to be around her. The venting and complaining is killing me because it never ends, but she doesn't do anything about it. It drags me down and after awhile it becomes overwhelming I don't know what do do anymore. I love her, but I'm afraid that it might push me to leave her.

vashti is offline Hot love muffin guru
    Users Country Flag
    "Hot Love Pancake(s)"