+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: He says he loves me and wants to support me-but doesn't want to be with me. Help!!

He says he loves me and wants to support me-but doesn't want to be with me. Help!!

I am a 27 year old student whose 36 year old boyfriend of 5.5 years just broke up with me. We have been best friends and companions and he has gushed numerous times to myself and friends that we would be together forever. About 2 years ago, he stopped sleeping with me, around the time he started a new job and took an important position. I, naturally, suspected that he was seeing someone else but he never left the house except to go to work and didn't treat me any differently, except when it came to intimacy. Then several months ago he started noticeably pulling away, I tried to talk to him and figure it out, he would reassure me that everything was fine. Then, about a month ago, he told me were were no longer together, I made him unhappy, he no longer found me attractive. He called it a break and said that he hoped we could be together again one day, when I am more mature and have a life worth sharing (I contribute, not always doing homework, etc.). Over the last few weeks he has become a verbal loose canon and has expressed how he wants me to move out, my sadness over losing him only makes him angrier. He says he loves me more than I can possibly imagine but now does not see a future for us and does not want to get back together.