+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Dating Someone Much Older

Dating Someone Much Older

Hello everyone... this is my first post. Any advise you might have, is much appreciated. I'm a bit confused, and absolutely anything would help.

I am an office manager in a smaller branch of a larger company. The UPS guy usually has 1 delivery a day, and if not he comes to check for the pickup. Well this gentlemen is twice my age (I know... red flag right there). I'm just an overall friendly person - what's the point of being miserable... you affect everyone around you. I have always made conversation with him when he's come in and I've had to sign for things. He would joke with me and whatnot, so I'd joke back. Eventually, he started kinda flirting with me, and then eventually he asked me out on a date.

He was very thoughtful and respectful on our date. I had a good time. He has a wonderful sense of humor, and I've had some of the most intelligent conversation with him. I've also come to find out that we do have many things in common as well.

He is also very open with how he is feelings, which I really like. He started out by telling me that he tried to ignore his gut instinct to get to know me better, because of my age. And he said he eventually gave in, and even more now that he's hung out with me several times over the last few weeks, he doesn't feel like there's such a large age gap in between us because he doesn't feel I act like I'm 24.

When he first asked me out I rejected (even though I was attracted to him) because I was afraid maybe he was having a midlife crisis and wanted to be his young mistress... but I don't feel as if it's that way at all.

Now he has had a fair share of lifes experiences - he was married before, and has 2 kids. His youngest passed away overseas in the war against Iraq (god rest his soul). The son that passed away would be my age...