+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I need advice ASAP please!

I need advice ASAP please!

Hi!

I'm new here and I have a pressing question. I hope you can help. I would really appreciate it.

Here's my story:

I'm a 23 year old female. I am dating a 19 year old guy. I'm a Afrikaans South African, my guy is an English South African. He can't really speak my language (in South Africa the Afrikaner language was oppressed by the English, therefore lots of Afrikaners here are very sensitive about the language issue...I don't really care about it).

I'm a geologist and I studied 5 years at University. My guy finished school and works for his father.

We stay about 3 hours apart. I moved out of my parents house for the first time this year. My parents stay in the same city as my boyfriend. When I go to visit them and him I stay at my parents house.

My father has banned me from coming to stay with them if that means I also want to see my guy over the weekend. My dad really dislikes my bf. He tells me I'm seriously busy messing up my life by dating this younger guy who did'nt go to college, still stays with his parents and doesn't have a "big" career. In my fathers eyes, my bf is a "child", a no good dropout without any potential or prospects to offer a woman. And my bf can't even speak my language!!! (The horror - I'm being sarcastic btw). My dad doesn't understand why i would want to spend time let alone be in a relationship with this "child". He tells me I have psycological problems for doing it and that I am going to pay dearly for this "mistake". My father speaks in a very derogatory and rude way about my guy and our relationship. It hurts me deeply and I feel a lot of anger towards my father.