+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Gen X dilemma

Gen X dilemma

This is less an advice question and more of "am I the only one?" posting.

I'm a Gen Xer who did all the things one is encouraged to do. I went to college for nearly a dozen years. Dated but nothing too serious; kept my nose in the books. I did very well. I got a job and spent the next eight years trying to keep it. Again, very little dating because I was so busy with work.

Now, I'm closer to 40 than 30. I have all my hair, I don't look older, I'm in good physical shape. I am an only child with no other relatives other than my parents who are getting older--they aren't infirmed but they are older and I'm very close to them because they have always been there for me in life; whereas, there hasn't been a single woman from my dating past that really understood what I do for a living or why it might be important.

I don't know why, but I increasingly find that I don't even look for a relationship with a woman. I'm totally hetero, but the draw to dating just isn't there. I looked through a photo album of a woman I had once loved and it seems more like the distant past than anything else--I feel no emotional connection that past.

Except for a couple of dates last year, I haven't dated in almost six years and haven't even been interested in pursuing sex during that period of time. The sex doesn't even seem worth it because I know the process quite well and I think I'd be disappointed discovering that even it is the same as with other women.

I wouldn't even know where to start anymore. I find that I have very little to say on a date whereas when I was younger I had tons to say. I dated so many women in the earlier days that it seems like there's very little unique about any of the new people...I see them as combinations of ex's more than anything new.