+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The Ex in the closet!!!

The Ex in the closet!!!

Hi all,

I am a newbie and looking for some outside advice.

I have a partner and we have been together for over a year now. He is the man of my dreams. I am 33 and he is 39.

He would like for me to move in with him and indeed I spend most nights at his place.

My problem is this. He has almost an entire wardrobe worth of his ex girlfriends clothes in his closet.
    At first it didn’t really bother me but he keeps saying he will remove them but doesn’t.

It has been such a long time and he STILL hasn’t got rid of the clothes always sighting that he is too lazy to get around to it.

He does have financial ties with this woman (they own a property together). I have tried ignoring this, asking nicely, asking forcefully, having a bit of a tantrum and still nothing.

I don’t want to go ahead boxing all of my things up if he simply can’t get rid of some clothes (and believe me I NEED that wardrobe).

I guess what I am asking is..I am overreacting when I get upset that her clothes are still there? I was listening to a radio station the other day and a girl got upset at her current boyfriend because some nail polish remover from the ex was in the house.

I think it's a legitimate complaint. Have you already moved in with him and that's why you need the closet space? If yes, since he said he will remove them, I would just remove her clothes into a box myself and put mine in. If you haven't moved in yet then I would hint at doing the above when you are there. His angle is practicality not emotional attachment, this would work from the same angle of practicality.
    Don't cry, don't regret and don't blame
    Weak find the whip, willing find freedom
    Towards the sun, carry your name
    In warm hands you are given
    Ask the wind for the way
    Uncertainty's gone, your path will unravel
    Accept all as it is and do not blame
    God or the Devil