+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Possible office romance or friendly colleagues?

Possible office romance or friendly colleagues?

Hi everyone!

Here's my story, i'll try and make it short and succinct. I've been working at my current place for about two months now and have recently been talking to this guy. We'll call him Brett. I've noticed him since the first day i started working there but i didn't get much of a response from him when we made eye contact.

Only a couple of weeks ago did we start talking. He's friends with my other colleague that i started training with and they were both in the kitchen talking. I went by and started talking to my friend and had a brief conversation with the both of them.

Ever since then, if Brett and i made eye contact while i walked past his desk we'd both smile and acknowledge each other. We've spoken twice since the initial time with my friend. The first one-on-one chat we had was pretty general, we spoke about work and uni. He mentioned which uni he went to which is near a major bustling road that runs along all the way to my house. I asked if he liked hanging out there since it's close to his uni. He said he goes there all the time. And he asked me where I like to hang out. I said the same road, but closer to my place.

He proceeded to say "Well, we should hang out sometime then! What's your number?" i was a little taken aback. He just asked me so suddenly and i don't think he understood that i hang out on the same road but on the other side of town! I wanted to give my number to him but i felt a bit shy and didn't want to do so on the pretense that he thought I'm in the same area. So i made it clear to him of that. He just said "Oh okay" .....that's it, we continued on our conversation.

The second one-on-one conversation wasn't too eventful. I'm planning to quit actually and he asked me about it. He said i should stay or at least stay until i find another job. That was that.