+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Help Me! (Phone conversations)

Help Me! (Phone conversations)

I don't have problems starting conversation in person but lately, it seems that when girls call me on the phone, they expect ME to have somethin to talk about.

It gets rather annoying. I get like 6 calls during the day from girls that don't have anything to talk about. But I'm not good at ending a phone call ( I always feel that I'll hurt their feelings by not wanting to talk to them). So I stay on the line, and the only way I keep us talking is by saying stupid stuff or putting up a playful argument (which I do to break the silence. And it's getting annoying to ME because it makes me feel childish).

Should I start telling them "Hey I gotta go" if they have nothing to say? Or am I suppose to be able to keep up conversation? After I thought about it, I thought it would be good for me to just stay on the line so I can practice keeping up conversation. But that's not working at all. The only thing that does is cause me to make an ass/fool of myself by saying stupid sh*t.

EDIT: Maybe it's my fault. Even when I talk to my best friend (which is a girl) on the phone, it seems I struggle to think up a topic that we can talk about.
    Last edited by Bigg Boss; 23-12-05 at 04:46 AM.

Get use to it. Sorry. My girlfriend calls me every night, or expects to be called, despite the fact that we work together in ajoining cubicals every day of the work week.

Edit: I experience the same problem and also end up saying stupid stuff like taking my sarcasm too far.
    Last edited by TAVS; 23-12-05 at 04:47 AM.
    "Oh Lord it's hard to be humble, when you're perfect in every way. I can't wait to look in the mirror, cause I get better loking each day. To know me is to love me, I must be a hell of a man. Oh Lord it's hard to be humble, but I'm doing the best that I can." Mac Davis