+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Thinking it might be over

Thinking it might be over

I'm thinking that it might be over. Dated for four months. Very nice woman who is late 30's and takes care of relatives. A homebody. I'm early 40's. I'm very close to my family as well. I'm very organized in my life--I've got it all together and am successful. My house is immaculate, I'm an excellent cook, etc.

So, four months into it, I figure let's see if she can take meeting my folks. It went swimmingly on the surface, but my sense is that she cannot live up to my standard of life. She has said many times that she does not come from a nice home--that its a mess. Her folks aren't like my folks. She actually started crying the other day and said as much. In my mind, she started pulling back emotionally. And, I thought about it...namely, that she was on the point of ending the relationship. I called tonight, but no answer and no call back at this point.

Strange thing is that if it ended, that wouldn't bother me too much...I would not be crushed. My life would continue--was just promoted to a top job, my home and everything is squared away, I have my routines...generally, life is very good for me.

I get this sense that she is not so close to her family--that she does it out of loyalty and yet wants a different life that she doesn't exactly know what it will entail.