+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Can he love me and not be commited?

Can he love me and not be commited?

Hello. I am new to this, but in desperate need of a third party opinion. Been with my bf for about a year, lately its been off and on because I can't decide what is the best choice.

Let me start by saying that him and I have a 9 year old together, however he just met her and came back into my life a year ago. That being said, we have a lot of history and hurt between us already.

I made it clear to him in the beginning that I wanted a serious relationship with commitment and asked him what he though of the situation when we started "hanging out" again. So it was never unclear. But from day one he has been going out w/friends, harldy ever invites me, maybe 5 times this whole year. Says he's busy all the time. He does work a lot but my problem is that he finds time to check out new sportsbars with friends, but we only see each other about once maybe twice a week. He NEVER answers the phone when I call and takes forever to respond to my texts. He says its cause he's at work and busy, but he goes in around 7 AM and this is at around 8 or 9PM. What a dedicated man?! So then when we are talking sometimes he will tell about new bars he went to and just making conversation, but I can't help but wonder why there is time for that but not me. Besides my problems, he is spending just as little time with my daughter.

Here's my delima: I have broken up with him, he doesn't take it seriously and why should he I always come back. But I told him that I was seious, done, do not even care to try anymore. Now he says he's in therapy to work on the problems that are left over from his last relationship which ended 2 years ago and they were together about 3. He says did love me and still does, he knows he can treat me right someday when he is "well" and was getting upset with me when I said I can't wait around anymore for him to get over his ex. What should I do? Stay or go?