+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Is it worth beginning a relationship?

Is it worth beginning a relationship?

I started a new job over a month ago. One of the employees is about 8 years older than me. We have this chemistry that is undeniable. However, I am a college grad and got a job in management. He is going to community college and works at 2 minimum wage jobs. I always thought that I would be with someone who is successful but lately, I have been with men who treat me bad. He could potentially treat me really well. Is it worth it to give it a try? Or am I lowering my standards?

Since you've been treated badly by people in your past, you could learn from those experiences. Giving something a try, means you're open to those opportunities. But you better be careful of your heart. If you're a college grad, that means you have a lot of years to go in life. You don't have to rush in getting into a romantic relationship. If you feel something for the person, it's best to get to know them first. Like really get to know them. I don't think you can get to know a person in just a month though.

The proper standards should be true love. What is success, if there is no true love. True love is not only feelings, but also principle.
    I don't know your past relationships, but were they led by feelings alone?...
    Something I've learned, people can be manipulated by their feelings. A person can be nice to you, make you feel good, but then suddenly everything changes. That's why don't let your feelings determine love. Cause it could just be infatuation. Your feelings could just be a cue for something.

Try to be friends first. Refrain from intimacy, because intimacy can trigger feelings. Triggered for the purpose of good or bad. Not letting your feelings be the determinant allows you to think of principles that would let you know if it IS worth it. Don't settle for "potentially treat" you well. But make sure "you will be treated well".