+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Doubting myself and my marriage

Doubting myself and my marriage

I have been married for 15 years now and it has been tough at times due to being very different ro my partner. She tells me I'm no good as I'm not interesting enough to win friends and says I need to change and read interesting books, and do interesting things so that others will like me and her more. I feel if I be myself people should like me for who I am and not for something I am trying to be. I have changed a lot of things and made a lot of effort to do things she has requested but I don't seem to get anywhere and she regularly puts me down or has a go at me in front of the kids. She tells me I don't think and that i say stupid things and won't let me drive the car anymore. I am really struggling and don't know what to do anymore. It's not like I have nothing going for me. I have a degree and a job and have supported my family. I am starting to feel down and confused and am questioning myself and my marriage. We have tried counselling but she is always right and never wrong. I feel like i can't be myself and just want to be loved for who I am. Any thoughts and help would be appreciated.

Dear Blurry,

I'll start with this. I am sorry your going through this type of situation. When the one who is suppose to love us unconditionally seems to have their own set of rules, hence not unconditional at all, it can leave us feeling doubtful of the connection. You have had children with this woman, have been with her for many years. Was she always like this? I wonder.
    I'm sorry to say but if therapy isn't effective; if she is unwilling to bend or admit fault in any way it may be time to make some tough decisions.
    Often, unless one taketh away from the other, it is difficult for the other to see what life would be like without them in it.
    Perhaps if you put space between her and you, she would remember all the qualities she fell in love with all those years ago.