+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Indie, a rose, by any other name...

Indie, a rose, by any other name...

[url]http://www.loveforum.net/love-advice-forum/30321-doormats-4.html[/url] <---- deriving continued conversation from here.

Here, let's talk about this here, Indie, since you are right that the original thread I posted does not, in fact, have much to do with what we we began talking about. But I find it interesting, and you as well.

You and I are not on the same page, but it's not surprising; you are a scientist, clearly, and I am a writer. We are, and probably always will, see things on the other sides of the fence. But one major difference between us, is that I am not condescending to your intelligence, while you seem quite obliged to condescend to mine. Superiority complex maybe? I'll do this in an MLA essay writing form, they loved to teach us to debate.

"The concept of writing should define the field of a science." ([url]http://www.marxists.org/reference/subject/philosophy/works/fr/derrida.htm[/url])

Words shape ideas. Ideas shape realities. I'm not going to get up on a platform and say I know more about you in science. If what you wanted was a definition, that was what you should have asked for. In modern psychology everything is a syndrome. Normal doesn't exist. 'Syndrome' connotes a negative idea in your head, something that is out of place that would be better served if not there at all. 'Syndrome' connotes a neutral label in my mind. Something that would exist or not exist in a human being regardless of whether it is defined or not. You do not feel the term, "Velvet-glove in an iron fist" is something that should be considered a syndrome. It is a positive term you were using, and you felt I was defining it in a negative way. my post,

Quote Originally Posted by Rollerderby View Post