I am seeking help on the following situation:
I am a law enforcement officer, therefore I deal with a lot of people at all times. Two years ago I was introduced to a new coworker, who at first did not catch my attention and we never spoke. In fact, I never spoke with her until last year in 2004. Eventually we worked together on a project and from that moment on she caught my attention. I was very impressed with her character, sense of independence and quick thinking skills. From that moment on, I did what I could to get to know her better. We developed a great working relationship and we became very open with each other at work. One day I asked her out and she blushed, got choked up and accepted. The day of the date, she calls me up with a silly excuse and re schedules the date, the next time she comes up with another excuse and so on. It felt like I was back in high school and she really turned me off.
I got tired of all her excuses and was willing to move on. But I didn't want to move on with doubt, so I went to her office and told her how I felt about her. She was shocked, blushing and silent with no words to offer. As she began to speak, out of no where an emergency came and I had to go.
Because of the nature of the emergency I was out of town for 4 days. During that time I actually felt relieved almost like getting closure from a bad relationship (that I never had to begin with). When I got back to the office 4 days later she had left me an e-mail and a few voice mails on my cell and office line. I didn't even read it nor responded. I just wanted to move on and that was it.
Finally she came to my office and we spoke for a good 20 minutes. She basically told me that she doesn't want a relationship because she feels like she is still getting over her last relationship. She loves talking to me and finds me as a great guy to talk to but she doesn't want to get involved in a relationship right now. Apparently her last boyfriend did a severe numbe on her.