Hi Guys, Need some advice, and I bet this is going to be an essay, so hold tight.

Right..... Myself and my girlfriend (ex) have been going out for 7 years just about, been dating ever since college, and through my university degree. She lived at mine for pretty much 6 years, along with my brother and my parents when they came back from abroad now and again (usually over summer or xmas). Anyway, we were both happy and loved each other for the whole time, we have a joint bank account - we get our pay in seperate accounts and just transfer a bit of money for food and what not, untill I finished my university degree a 4 months ago, i felt like I missed the university life and started going to the pub drinking and things. She however had a full time job, so never wanted to go out on a night, and I felt like i needed to get away from things so we could both have our own space from time to time.

Anyway, I was on a part time job after finishing uni, and had loads of time during the day to sleep and on a night I wouldn't be tired and felt like going out.... So I did (worst mistake of my life looking back at it) this carried on over around 2 weeks, where i soon get a txt message from her saying "James I think we need to talk - what's going on".... So i fly home, she's on the sofa in tears, I sit down next to her, and she asks what's going on, i start to say "i dunno" a few times, then she asks if i love her, which stupidly I said "i dunno" - then she said that she thinks we might be better if we spent some time apart, so she packed some stuff and left - I was shocked, i didn't know what to do, i just stood there, couldn't say anything as she walked past me to her car and drove off - I remember standing there just watching her drive away not doing anything.