+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Love, Infatuation, Lonliness, or something else?

Love, Infatuation, Lonliness, or something else?

This past weekend my best friend got married. During the reception one of our friends recalled a time when the groom said something along the lines of, I'm so blessed to be able to wake up every morning and know that through all my flaws and short comings, that this girl loves me.

That got me thinking...

I'm no expert on dating, heck, I've only ever had a handful of serious relationships, whether I chalk that up to being anti-social, or just having unbelievably high standards, IDK if I'll ever know. But I'm in a bit of a pickle.

This girl, how she looks and feels about me, the things she writes me, and the things she says off the wall and out of the blue... Well... It makes me feel as tho she'd love me through all of my flaws and short comings... And she's told me countless times now that I'm the man of her dreams...

I'm currently 25 years old, almost 26, and when I was 17 I went on a mission trip to Romania where I met a girl. We fell in love, or at least what we thought was love at the time, and when we came home from the trip 4 weeks later we made a long distance relationship last 364 days. I can't say for sure because it was so long ago, but I think we could have made it last even longer if, at the time, my mother had developed a different view of her. She hated her so much that it drove us to break it off.

She still hates her, and sad enough to say, my mother and I are VERY close... I have sort of a dependency issue, tho it's not like the case where I can't live without her and I can't make my own decisions, thats just kinda downright pathetic. I'd sum it up as a very deep respect and appreciation for what she has given me throughout my life. And the very last thing I EVER want to do is disapoint her in any way.