+ Follow This Topic

Thread: She wants to go on a break, need some advice.

She wants to go on a break, need some advice.

Hi everybody. This is my first time posting here; I'm really in need of some advice.

This is going to be long. I can't stop myself from venting whenever I talk about this. I'll include a brief summary at the very bottom. If you want, you can read through the whole thing for a better idea of what's going on.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'll start with some back story. As a forewarning, this may be a little long. I still have trouble writing about this without venting a little bit.

My girlfriend and I have just transferred to a university after completing our two year degrees at a community college closer to our homes. The third of this month was our two and a half year anniversary.

We've both been quite stressed out for some time. I've been going to school non-stop for over a year in order to obtain the credits I needed to transfer to my university as well as working. She's been having a lot of trouble with homesickness. At her house, she was always a little bit too much of a caregiver to her dad, brother and sister than she should have been. While it was stressful for her, she has missed them badly since moving out.

Another problem that has developed is an issue with sex, mainly, that I want to more than she does. We were both so busy when we were still at home that it would sometimes be multiple weeks between times when we actually had the opportunity and once we got to school, she was so homesick that she often didn't feel like it. It became a sensitive issue between us because I felt like she wasn't attracted to me or something and she felt guilty and pressured because she didn't feel she was satisfying me. About two months before we got here we talked about maybe going to one of the free councilors at our school together.