+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Am I wrong to be upset?

Am I wrong to be upset?

Hi y'all. A little background on my relationship is that we have been dating for 2.5 years and live 7 hours from each other. I've been driving to him every weekend for the last 7 months to help him work on his house.

His house was being renovated to sell, and we just finished it yesterday. The plan was that he was going to make the drive this upcoming weekend, as I have been the one doing all of the commuting. Yesterday his buddy that he hasn't seen in three months told my boyfriend that he's coming to town to visit next weekend. Without even asking how I felt about it, my boyfriend decided to stay home next weekend and not visit me, to see his friend.

I'm torn because I want him to have fun with his friend, but I also want him to come see me. We haven't done anything fun in 7 months...except go to IHOP for pancakes twice, because we have been working nonstop on his house. I had planned this weekend to be fun and relaxing and scheduled a hot air balloon ride.

I feel petty that I'm so upset by his actions. Should I just let the situation settle and be ok with it?

Side note: he leaves for a 9 month deployment in 6 weeks.

Where to get a girl like you? Drives 7 hours every weekend and that to help renovate house?

I think you really been working hard in this relationship and to help your BF. also you are romantic type and you did deserve that he would drive to you this time. But yeah he made a big mistake. If you think he deserves another chance then dont make too much drama out of this. But if this repeats then you have rights to stand up for yourself. Actually you could even tell him your side of story so he could see what he did to you.

Wish you happy rest 6 weeks together. Enjoy eachother !
    Doubt kills more dreams than failure ever will