+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Fiancee's mom wants to move in

Fiancee's mom wants to move in

I just don’t get why my fiancee want her mom to live with us after our wedding. She and I have been staying in our apartment for about two years now. So far, we’ve established a good routine and chemistry inside the house. If we add in her mom to the mix, I’m afraid she might shake this balance. It kind of pieces me off how of all time my fiancee wants her to move in, she chose after the wedding. Isn’t that supposed to be our honeymoon period? How do I tell her that I don’t want her mom with us? At least not after our first year.

You see her family’s used to this kind of thing since they’re kind of a tight family. Her mom’s from Cebu who met her dad in some asian date tour. Her parents got married and lived here in Chicago since then. Two of her mom’s siblings migrated here too and lived with them for a while. Basically, living with extended family members is a walk in the park for her. But it’s not for me. I need help to survive this fiasco. Someone save me.

The thing is most of the time living with extended family members looks good on the surface. But internally a lot of the times its disaster. Parents have a hard time not overstepping their boundaries. Its also difficult for the parent of one person to show the same time of care/concern for the in-law.

Also, you are more inclined to act as the child when there is a parent involved. This is because the parents usually take on the gaurdian role and the kids are usually left with no choice but to be the dependent at that point. This is a problem because you are adults now, not children.