+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Drinking

Drinking

hello there. i just needed some help in my relationship, and it seems as if i can't turn to anyone i know right now, so i came here. i am currently a freshman at college, and just celebrating my 2 year "anniversary" of dating my girlfriend, who is a sophomore at a different college about an hour from here. Before heading off to college, neither of us drank alcohol. But she joined a sorority at her current school, and has started to drink frequently. i tend to believe that her "friends" (who drink alllllll the time) just want her to drink because she typically hasn't wanted to, not because they have a good time with her (they don't like me either, because they think i'm "holding her back"). she says she just wants to drink, and they don't peer pressure her.

i dont have a huge problem with drinking in itself, but i find it discomforting that she's drinking at frat parties when we're an hour away from each other. we both love each other deeply and have told each other that while nothing's for sure, we do want to spend our lives together. she doesn't exactly get sloppy drunk when she drinks, but she does get drunk enough to where it makes me nervous. it's quite honestly the only hitch in our relationship--we never fight, or really even squabble, about anything, except this topic.