+ Follow This Topic

Thread: I need to improve my English

Tedel Guest

I need to improve my English

To make a long story short, I studied English when I was at school and I approved Cambridge's FCE exam when I was 14. Now that I'm 28, I live on writing and I've just received a couple of comments from my website that say that my English is a little "stifted". I understand this as a little old-fashioned too.

So, what suggestions can you give me to improve my English? I don't want to become an expert linguist, but just general ideas that could help me to have a more 21st-century way to speak. mm... I do read a lot, including blogs and other "modern" stuff.

I don't know... I'm open to suggestions.

I suggest that you check the comment on your website. Did they say "stifted" or "stilted"? If they said "stifted", you should tell them to blow it out their ass, because that's not an English word.

I suggest you listen to books read in English. Get a book on CD and listen to it in your car. Hearing the rhythm of the language should help quite a bit. Maybe you could subscribe to a magazine in English, too.

I wish the internet were a better place for you to learn, but I've seen some really appallingly bad English online, some of it from people who are native English speakers. It must be difficult for people to figure out what's right and what's wrong.
    Spammer Spanker

Tedel Guest
    Oh, you're right. It was stilted.

Audio books? That's a good idea, thank you. I was trusting songs only, but music obviously give them another rhythm.

vashti is offline Hot love muffin guru
    Users Country Flag
    "Hot Love Pancake(s)"
    A lot of people in my area tell me they learned English from watching TV - either the news or cartoons - regularly.
    Relax... I'll need some information first. Just the basic facts - can you show me where it hurts?