+ Follow This Topic

Thread: relationship anxiety

relationship anxiety

Hi,

I'm new to this so please bear with me!

I am entering into a new relationship and at first it was great, then my anxiety kicked in. I find myself questioning everything and can't seem to let things be. I know the person likes me, he tells me all the time. I'm not letting myself believe this, which ends up creating more problems.

I really like this guy and dont want to mess things up, as my anxiety has done in the past. Am I the only one who does this?? Anyone have any advice on how to accept things and stop worrying?? I'd appreciate any help, advice, or words of encouragement.

vashti is offline Hot love muffin guru
    Users Country Flag
    "Hot Love Pancake(s)"
    Have you been diagnosed with an anxiety disorder, or is this typical insecurity?
    Relax... I'll need some information first. Just the basic facts - can you show me where it hurts?

I have anxiety and my relationship insecurities make it that much worse. I feel like I'm waiting for something bad to happen. And because of that I am causing problems.

vashti is offline Hot love muffin guru
    Users Country Flag
    "Hot Love Pancake(s)"
    If you have an actual medical diagnosis, you should be getting some sort of medication and therapy. Are you doing that?
    Relax... I'll need some information first. Just the basic facts - can you show me where it hurts?

Not at the moment, due to lack of health insurance. Thats pretty much why I am here, looking for something that can help. I think my main axiety stems from relationship insecurities because I dont feel it any other time.

Sounds bleak. I think you're going to have to wade through your fear to the other side.

What is the worst thing that could happen in this situation? He could dump you. Give yourself five minutes to imagine what that would be like. Really get into it. Cry. Freak out. (Be alone when you do this- no need to frighten others).