+ Follow This Topic

Thread: We live together, but I can't be with him... (please help me!)

We live together, but I can't be with him... (please help me!)

If anyone has any idea on how I can prevent my heart from breaking, please tell me it as soon as possible...
    Here is my situation. I am an 18 year old student who arrived at university about 3 months ago... having never been to this city (Belfast) before. On my second day in town I met a young Irish boy.
    We get along really well and we're really into each other (or at least we were). But he lives in my hall, and we share a kitchen, which complicates everything.
    Long story short, we almost started dating my second week in the country, but then he said that because we lived on the same floor there was too much risk involved and if anything went wrong we'd have to deal with it until May... and, well he's right, but as far as I'm concerned him saying this WAS it going wrong (he doesn't know this about me).
    Six weeks came and went, we got closer, he got flirtier, and I started losing my mind.
    So, I made a big mistake. Yeah, yeah, I know... I brought the conversation up. (To my credit, several guy friends told me I should... do men not understand themselves or something?)
    He told me, "Sadie, this is tough for me, because I really really like you... but I like my lifestyle here and I don't want it to change". It gets worse - I told him "you realize this is the last call, right? Take me or leave me... You can't try again in the future." (Why, oh why was I so stupid?)