+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trying to right my evil ways

Trying to right my evil ways

I lied to my girlfriend and everyone around me about my level of education by saying that I graduated university when in fact I had actually left. I kept up that lie for three years. Within the first year of the lie I began dating a woman. I kept the lie up until just recently (thus a three year lie). Nobody else knew the truth as to my situation. She is rightfully hurt that I lied to her and says that it has inadvertently affected the plans she had for our lives. I moved down to live with her while in the lie and we've been in the same apartment for 4 months now and the lie has only come to light in the last month, maybe two. So she's angry about that.

The stress that this has caused on our relationship is something I've never felt before. She gets angry at me for all sorts of little things now, as is her right, and it's led to a great deal of bickering and even fighting. Twice now, the first in the history of my life and hopefully ever, it's gotten to the point where I've essentially manhandled her and vice versa (of course not to the same degree as she's about half my size). I'm ashamed to even write it let alone talk about it to people in real life. As all pieces of garbage, I was initially shocked that I was even capable of doing such a thing to the woman with whom I felt I belonged, but here it is now. The last blast like that was about a month ago, maybe more, and the time before that was perhaps mere weeks. We'd already been living together for some 3 months before that started. It has not happened since and I make every concerted effort to TALK about our feelings and issues we have before a fight develops (just like I'd always done before this started).