+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Marriage?

Marriage?

I am a 24 year old college student dating a 30 year old (not in college). This is my first serious relationship. We have only been together a year but I dont want to be one of those women in a relationship for 5 years...I dont know why I just think its stupid, if you love the person shouldnt you be ready for marriage? The other day it came up when talking about purchasing a home...he said in a couple years it depends, am i still in school, how are we financially...etc. But I have also expressed that I do not want a big wedding so finances wouldnt change.... I am new at all this and would like some advice, I am sure I am being stupid.

Quote Originally Posted by mtinlove View Post
    We have only been together a year but I dont want to be one of those women in a relationship for 5 years...I dont know why I just think its stupid, if you love the person shouldnt you be ready for marriage?
    Marriage is a very serious commitment. Most people enter marriage with an expectation that it will be something that will last a life time. You've only been together for a year, how well do you think you know him to say that you are ready to dedicate your entire life to this person?

I agree that waiting 5 years is a bit excessive, but I also think that it depends on the knowledge already available. How deeply do you know each other (and not just favourite food or interests, but entire personality patterns, entire routines, actions and reactions to a whole range of external stimuli, can you predict each other's behavior in a whole range of complicated situations - and thus deeply trust each other) to say that both of you are ready?
    Don't cry, don't regret and don't blame
    Weak find the whip, willing find freedom
    Towards the sun, carry your name
    In warm hands you are given
    Ask the wind for the way
    Uncertainty's gone, your path will unravel
    Accept all as it is and do not blame