+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wages

anachronistic Guest

Wages

Sometimes I don't always get paid by the hour. But for my current job, I am getting paid $12.50 an hour. That's a big step for someone who was just working minimum wage, just a year ago.

That's about $3000 a month. Unfortunately, I will only be working for a month, unless it turns into a summer job. That would be nice, but I can't really depend on it. I am actively searching out for my next job.

I am beginning to learn how to manage my money, now that I have future plans set out. I can't just go out and buy things that I want... the other day I was going to buy a leather jacket, but I declined, thinking I need to save up for more important things.

I will probably be getting a more hands-on job, that I have little to no experience in. It's going to be hard to get a job here, mid-summer, especially one that will pay decent. I will probably get stuck with a shitty minimum wage job.

With these freelance web design jobs, it is easy for me to set out a price; I know what I am doing; I have certification for what I am doing, and I have done it for more than 2 years. I could probably charge more if I wanted to, haha... but I need to find another job, and it will probably a learning experience for me.

Just wondering if you have any tips for little old me. Words of wisdom. Maybe about starting wage, and things like that.

vashti is offline Hot love muffin guru
    Users Country Flag
    "Hot Love Pancake(s)"
    Never ask for a lower salary than the previous job paid you for similar work (unless there is a national recession, or you were being ridiculously overpaid).
    Relax... I'll need some information first. Just the basic facts - can you show me where it hurts?

IndiReloaded is offline Yawning
    Users Country Flag
    "Hot Love Pancake(s)"
    In your early working career you need to be realistic about your ability to command wages.