+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Isolation

Isolation

If you do not feel lonely, but on the contrary you prefer living alone, doing things on your own, enjoy your days off and wks infront of ur laptop/TV/Satellite away from others even if they are around, is that a normal behaviour or unhealthy thing to do?

I would reckon that is due to mistrusting others. Someone might fear being stung or stabbed from the back again, so one tends to live lonely as much as he/she can. Is that the case?

Tedel Guest
    Somehow, I was sure it was you who started this topic

Well, I can say I am an expert in isolation (basically because nearly every highly-gifted faces strong isolation problems), so this is how I see it. If you reject socializing, you are either scared or quite selfish —my odds to the latter.

Distrusting people you don't know is normal —you don't know if they want to be your friends or just kill you, after all. However, if you don't trust anybody, then I would think you have been abused in the past.

As you see, it is normal to be somewhat alone now and then, it is normal to distrust, too. What is not normal is staying in thos extremes. That hurts a lot in the long term.

Why are you sure it is me who started the topic? This post is not about myself. On the contrary, I hate being lonely and try work and work until I became workholic to avoid being isolated. It is a relative of mine who behaves like that and I am surprisd why he is doing that while members of his family are all around him. I also think that the way he is brought up might also lead to that case.
    Last edited by clearskies; 28-06-08 at 08:23 AM.

Tone Guest
    Maybe cause your threads usually have a negative association?

wanting to spend time alone is normal. Someone might just like their independence more than others.
    Last edited by lastwish; 28-06-08 at 09:41 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by clearskies View Post