+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Religious Differences

Religious Differences

Greetings, all.

I'm interested in someone, but I've recently found out that she's a pretty religious Christian- she regularly goes to a church group. I, on the other hand, am an atheist.

Now, I have nothing against other religions. In fact, most of my friends are very religious. However, a relationship is different from a friendship, and religious differences could potentially cause problems in the future. Plus, even though I have no major objections to Christianity, a number of Christians object strongly to atheism.

I'm curious if anyone here has any experience with this type of situation. I'm still new to dating...

FYI, I'm a college freshman in New York state.

Well, I dunno if she'll be like it but still... there's teachings in christianity about it being a bad idea to date non-christians cos they can act as a BIG distraction, and can cause them to loose faith. But it really depends on what she's like wheather she follows that.
    Another but is i'm a christian and i'm dating a girl who is athiest, it's just she doesn't mind me going to church as she knows that's what i do.
    So i don't think it's really that much of a problem , cpuld good tho because as u don't mind it you could go along with her to make her happy...and you never know

if she is really into her religion, then i say there is no point in pursuing tbh. it will get in the way if you want to have sex. if you are willing to wait then go for it, but at your age i would reckon thats not what you want to do
    Work like you don't need the money. Love like you've never been hurt. Dance like nobody's watching

It's a non issue at the moment....you aren't even in a relationship with her. Why worry about it at this point??

vashti is offline Hot love muffin guru
    Users Country Flag
    "Hot Love Pancake(s)"