+ Follow This Topic

Thread: EvE Online?

EvE Online?

I usually stay the hell away from MMORPG's, but I think that EvE might be something that I can hold up and, unlike other games, not have a negative impact on normal life in the process, mainly by catering for AFK rather than active "grinding" (depending on your arrangements, that is), and of course it's just so very different and complex.

So as I am about to finish my exams I decided to give it a go for just a month and see if its too my liking.

Have any of you others given it a shot? How did it turn out?

Gribble is offline Love Gurus
    Users Country Flag
    "Hot Love Pancake(s)"
    I tried Eve briefly. IT 's a game I think would have been fun had I started playing when it first came out. As it is, there's so much catching up, it's just not worth it. \
    God, so atrocious in the Old Testament, so attractive in the New--the Jekyl and Hyde of sacred romance.
    -Mark Twain

If people are good only because they fear punishment and hope for reward, then we are a sorry lot indeed.
    -Albert Einstein

I've not tried it, Lipp but from what I've read, the consensus seems to be that you have to spend alot of time in it to really make it a fun experience. But I'm sure it's not that steep of an investment to try it out.

I've been playing Champions Online, the superhero MMO. Totally different theme than a deep space game, but loads of fun nonetheless (and not a total time sink)
    “Inside every cynical person, there is a disappointed idealist”--George Carlin

Users Country Flag
    "Hot Love Pancake(s)"
    Actually, you don't have to spend a lot of time playing it. That's why I tried it out in the first place. It isn't an enormous time sink like all the other MMOs. Instead of grinding for dozens of hours to level up, you gain new skills on a real-time basis whether you're in game or not. It takes 3 days to learn Battleships II, for example.