+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can this still be just a fling?

Can this still be just a fling?

So I've been talking/flirting with this guy for a few weeks, we have very clear mutual interest.

I'll be blunt, I'm looking for a fling. Flirting, hot sex, minimal emotional entanglement. I've been very straightford about my intentions.

My concern is that Sexyguy keeps saying things like "I want to spend time with you...it isn't just about the sex" (we still haven't had sex BTW) or "you deserve someone better than me" ...things about what beautiful, caring soul I am.

Don't get me wrong, it's really sweet and the 2 hour conversations are fun, but I'm afraid that despite what he's said about agreeing to a no strings fling, that he's getting emotionally attatched.

This is my first attempt at a casual fling, and I've been out of the dating scene for a long time, so I'm just not sure what he's doing here.

I do like him as a human being and a potential friend. I'm enjoying getting to know him...

BUT, I'm getting worried that we're building too much emotional intimacy to have a casual fling.

If he really just wants a fling (like he's said) wouldn't he have shut up and put out by now?

In our social circle I have a rep of never having casual sex or doing the "hook up" ONS thing, so maybe he this he HAS to be like this despite my straight forward "hey let's have a hot little fling" statements?

What do you guys think?

Sounds like he keeps trying to put off sex in the effort to get to know you and is hoping that his sweet talks will have you wanting more than just a fling. Only way to find out is to put him on the spot and ask him. Tell him that you get the feeling he wants more and provide the evidence you gave here.