+ Follow This Topic

Thread: 28 year old GirlFriend has moved out because mom said so

28 year old GirlFriend has moved out because mom said so

I am a 28 year old guy. I had been staying with a 28 year old girlfriend for 7 months until recently when she moved out.
    I invited her to come and stay with me. We started building a life together e.g buying furniture for the house etc. She says that she doesn't want to move out but that if her mom doesn't approve she can't stay with me. I went to her mom to try and ask for her persmission but predictably she didn't want any of it.

The problem is since she moved out i have become very moody and unhappy even though she only stays 800m from my house which is part of the problem. We are both working professionals. I intend to marry this lady but right now i am in pain because i miss her presence. I wish i could spend every possible moment with her. The plan was and still is to get married in 2 years but i can't wait that long. At the same time i cannot just commit to marriage because i want to stay with her. I want to marry her when we are both ready.

Any advice on how i can get over this? Thanks

An overbearing mother-in-law type figure, and a girlfriend without the ability to live her own life. Oh, which is worse.

She'll be ready for marriage once she cuts that cord. I don't know what to tell you about your current moodiness. My advice is to think long and hard about this woman and her decision; why as a grown woman is she letting her mother decide things for her.

Is there any other reason the mother doesn't like you personally?
    So, so you think you can tell Heaven from Hell,
    blue skies from pain.
    Can you tell a green field from a cold steel rail?
    A smile from a veil?
    Do you think you can tell?
    And did they get you to trade your heroes for ghosts?
    Hot ashes for trees?
    Hot air for a cool breeze?
    Cold comfort for change?