+ Follow This Topic

Thread: does it sound ok to you?

does it sound ok to you?

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie in romantic relationship and would be very thankful if someone could give me advice on my situation.

I met this young 25 year old guy who’s a professional the other day and we went on a date on Valentine’s Day. Everything went pretty well until the bill. He asked for the bill and then it came a while later. To show my courtesy, I took out my wallet and hand over my part (half of the bill for $200 (total for $400) as from the menu when the time we ordered the set dinner which we agreed on). He didn’t say anything and do anything except for simply looking! After handing over my cash to the waiter, he went back to the cashier but later got back to the guy asking for more probably because the waiter found out my part alone ($200) wasn’t enough to cover the whole and he understood I meant to pay for my part only. When the guy saw the bill came back to him from the waiter, he didn’t say anything and hand out $300 to the waiter. Because it was a Chinese restaurant, we were charged for the tea (so should be well over $200 for each of us) beside the food which I didn’t realize coz I hadn’t been to a Chinese restaurant for ages! Because of this, I gave him $100 and he changed me $50.

The thing that I am not very happy over the whole process is: is that my responsibility as a girl to settle the bill all by myself on the first date on Valentine’s Day? Would that be a better gesture for a man to show some generosity by pretending that they’d like to settle the bill by himself, or at least, share the bill? Do you think the guy just used me as a bill settler? I know that it was me who phoned him and asked if he'd like to have a drink, but it was his idea (without asking me in advance before booking a table) to have a dinner in an upscale restaurant!

IT was not the first time I came across with this situation about money.