+ Follow This Topic

Thread: I love my flatmate, but can I tell her? My heart is breaking.

I love my flatmate, but can I tell her? My heart is breaking.

Hi,

I'm not very experienced with women, I've only had a couple of girlfriends and I'm 24. I'm having some trouble with my flatmate.

We live in a flat of 5 people, all students, for 6 months now. She's in the room next door to me.

I'm in love with her, but she's different to any girl I've asked out before. We're pretty good friends, we're always laughing and joking together and we go out a lot together with the rest of the flatmates.

When we met she had a boyfriend but they split up a couple of months ago and she's single.

About a month ago we were just hanging out and going to Starbucks and the movies, just the two of us. I told her that I think she's my favourite flatmate, she's funny and exciting and the flat wouldn't be the same without her. She blushed a little and I left if at that. Last week we were going out for a drink together and she told me I was her favourite person in the flat and she can connect and open up to me. I'm the only person she can have a serious conversation with.

We're always flirting with each other as well. It doesn't seem to go anywhere though, it just seems like a bit of fun despite me laying it on pretty heavy sometimes.

When we talk about relationships, she always compliments me but says she thinks I lack confidence a little and that's my problem with girls.

The most annoying aspect of this is that I think she loved me when we moved in together as she was obviously trying to ask me out a couple of times. At the time I just let it go as I wasn't in love with her and I thought it would be a mistake to date a girl in the same flat who lives next door to me.

I've always tried to deny my feelings for her for that reason. But the last few months I know I've fallen in love with her, I just think to much has gone on and we're too close now for me to ask her out.