+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Eye Contact with strangers

Eye Contact with strangers

Hey, im currently in my last year of college and 18yrs old, so pretty young to be worrying excessively about this kinda stuff, but hey you gotta learn some time and im here to learn =)

Basically i have a little problem with eye contact, when i like a girl i find it really hard to make eye contact, if i'm looking at them and they catch me looking then i instantly look away as if im trying to hide that im looking at them, as if im scared they will catch me and think im wierd or something like that.

Now i know that eye contact it very important and im ok making eye contact with people i know but not for long as it kinda creeps me out after a while, but then again i haven't had a girl in my life for just over a year now.

I really want to sort out this petty problem as it's stopping me from being about to combat my shyness, and i really don't want to end up being a shy guy when i go to uni.

Anyone got any suggestions that could help me with this problem???

Just look directly into her eyes when you ask her a question or if shes upet and coming to you for advice.
    Other than that, when your just talking normally, focus of her entire face, not just looking into her eyes.

Your 18 and in your last year of college?

"What you really fear is inside yourself. You fear your own power.
    You fear your own anger, the drive to do great and terrible things."

The Warmonger

I used to have this problem with eye contact too, while growing up. What helped me was to focus on the space between their eyes rather than looking directly into their eyes, for as long as I could. Slowly I became more comfortable with actually looking into their eyes.

Sometimes I still find it difficult to give eye contact for too long so I find an excuse to point out something we can both look at, to make it less awkward.

Quote Originally Posted by Cbrider View Post