+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Marrying an older and previously-married girl?

Marrying an older and previously-married girl?

Hi everyone,

I've been dating this amazing girl for the last 6 months after I broke up with my ex of many years. My current gf has many amazing qualities and my relationship is much much healthier than ones in the past, esp. compared my with immediate ex. We have many similar values, are both hard working and goal-oriented, and match in the libido department. I'm moving to another city in a couple of months and need to make a decision regarding this relationship. I need to ensure she is marriage material if I'm going to drag her to my new place of residence.

I love this girl very much. We are best of friends. She is a physiotherapist and I'm a future physician. I see her as an amazing future mother and wife. However, I have daily doubts about our relationship for the following reasons:

1)Her age: she is exactly 18months older than me (26 versus 27.5). My parents do not view this favorably and have given me a bit of a hard time despite the fact that they actually really like this girl's character. My parents, along with some family members, insist that i'd be better off with a younger girls (my dad thinks 6 years younger) because they believe that women age poorly (when it comes to looks). At the beginning of the relationship, I wasn't too concerned about the age, but my mind has become pre-occupied with a wrinkle here and a wrinkle there since i've been bombarded with comments regarding age. She is Caucasian and I'm middle-eastern and my family has this notion that Caucasian women age poorly (when it comes to their skin). Personally, I'm not too concerned about our age difference. Any advice? Does it matter that the girl is a bit older? Do females age poorly as compared to males?