+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Advice on Not Having Much in Common

Advice on Not Having Much in Common

G'day folks... I've just joined this forum and I hope ya'll be able to give me some direction with my love. So here's the story in short...

I'm a city gal, although born and bred in the country. I work as an office manager and I'm about to study accounting next year... I've been 'dating' a guy who is a farmer: owns his own wheat/sheep farm and house and has kind of got everything a gal would want... He is quiet and so am I... but we chat about the farm, work and worldly events. The most pressing thing for me is that although he is a wonderful man we really don't have much in common...

I feel if I walk away and find someone who has the same interests as me I'm walking away from a wonderful thing... I have always thought that to make a relationship work you have to have lots of common interests. But we don't have much in common - other than both being workaholics! I've talked to other farmer's wives and they have told me that that didn't have much in common either, but just by being there having dinner on the table at night and a warm house he will love you forever!

There is more to love than the neccessities of life.
    Passion, friendship, romance, intricate conversations... common interests in activity and words... I could go on forever, ha, but shouldn't you expect more out of life?

Loving someone forever as a 'thing to do' doesn't cut it for me.
    Has to be true love.

If your persona is of the sort where you like to work, eat and come home to a newspaper conversation, then go for it.

vashti is offline Hot love muffin guru
    Users Country Flag
    "Hot Love Pancake(s)"
    I don't think you need to have common interests, but rather common values.

Interests often change over time. Values don't really do that.

Besides, you can develop common interests.
    Relax... I'll need some information first. Just the basic facts - can you show me where it hurts?