+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Should I call her?

Should I call her?

I'm new here and looking for some advice on a situation I'm in with a girl I met a few months ago.

I'll try and make the background as succinct as I can, but do forgive me if it drags slightly.

I work as a solicitor and back in February I was told by my more senior colleague to attend court with one of the barristers that the firm engages for court appearances. I don't generally like going to court as I work in my firm's property department and prefer the office work to quaking in front of a grumpy judge, even if I'm not the one doing the talking.

The barrister, as it turned out, was a very cute girl of no more than a year older than myself. I mean really cute; petite, pretty, dark-haired. Having only just met her though I was naturally reserved and maintained a professional demeanour. I didn't really think any more of it though since I was still in bad shape over the recent total collapse of a relations with a girl I'd been crazy about for over a year.

However, around April time I was tasked to attend her again. We basically spent all day together and while there was obviously a professional dynamic between us, we couldn't help but chat casually about shared experiences etc. (we both went to the same law school). Again, I didn't really think that much of it until I was I had spend two full days with her back in May. This involved travelling to two courthouses out in the sticks and dealing with two sets of young children who had suffered personal injuries. I was really impressed with her sensitive handling of the little kids (something I'm not particularly adept at). By the end of the second day we were really quite well acquainted and I decided that I'd like to see her socially.