+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Weird horrible breakup.......confused and helpless

Weird horrible breakup.......confused and helpless

Hi,

My ex-girlfriend and me were together for 9 years before we went on a *break*. We both met each other when we were 16, and we pretty much grew up together and had been going strong. The 8th year of our relationship, I graduated from college and got an amazing job in Silicon valley. I tried my best to call and keep my girlfriend happy, and made constant trips to go meet her and spend time with her. But as the work pressure increased, it got increasingly difficult to meet her. So we both decided that she get's a job in California and she was happy with that decision. But the long distance thing had caused many fights between us. When she came to San Francisco, she couldn't find a job here, but found one in LA. The two months we were together in SF, she was miserable and she physically fought with me and tried to hurt herself. I got super scared, cuz I didn't want her to do something to herself. I tried to reason with her, but my talk just ignited her more. So I resorted to keeping quiet when she threw tantrums, so as not to ignite her anger more. Looking back now, that was my biggest mistake. Our parents got involved, and I thought it was best she takes the job in LA and cool down a bit.