+ Follow This Topic

Thread: My girlfriend left me. I need advice on the next step.

My girlfriend left me. I need advice on the next step.

Hey all.

New poster here and Im in desperate need of advice, so I want to share my story to shed some light on my predicament.
    I went to Uni a bit over years ago and didnt know anyone there. Weeks past and it was great, made new friends in my class mates and things felt like they were looking up. I had recently been studying music, (Im a musician), but found that I didnt want to make a living as a music teacher for the rest of my life. Im 34 btw.
    I met this girl in my class and got to know her a bit. After some weeks we started opening up and she revealed to me that she was in a relationship that wasnt going well, (running 4 years), that she was unhappy and generally didnt have a lot of self esteem, (she was a bit overweight but not overly so). I really liked her and we connected very well. She would start talking to me when feeling down, writing me on messenger, and I was a friend to her. Made her laugh, cheered her up etc. We began talking about meeting up for a cup of coffee and after a few weeks she came by my appartment in the evening, then told me that she had told her boyfriend that she was at a girlfriends place for tea.
    Now, it important to note that I didnt see her as anything but a friend. Sure I was attracted to her shes very pretty, but if theres another guy involved I never allow myself to go farther than friendly talks and casual company.