+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Forced separation

Forced separation

First, thanks to everyone who chimes in with their input. I appreciate it.

I'm a 24 year-old student and a Chinese Canadian who grew up in Canada for the latter 22 of those years. My girlfriend is an international student from China. We've known each other for about 3 months now but we live in the same rental house. I see her everyday so it feels like I've known her for much longer. We love each other passionately and we've never felt this way about other people before. We seem to always think the same things without even telling eachother what we think. Small things like what we both want to eat for dinner, or picking up the phone just before it rings while thinking about each other. Her English is not very advanced, and my Mandarin is practically non-existant. I have no idea how we fell in such deep love even with our communication barrier.

Our parents don't disapprove of our relationship, but they do realize how different our worlds are. This brings me to our dillema. We both feel we can spend our lives together but she'll need to return to China after her studies are complete. She feels the responsibility to return to her home town to help her parents which I completely understand and do not object to. We have even casually talked about marriage, but I do realize we've only been together for 3 months. If we separate now, we'll never know if we had a future together. I'll probably think about this for the rest of my life. If I wait until she's forced to leave, we'll be in much more pain, but something might happen between now and then that allows us to stay together. If I follow her back to China, I'm not completely sure that I'd be happy. I wouldn't be able to communicate with the local people. Career plans would be difficult, but I really don't know. I don't know what to do.