+ Follow This Topic

Thread: How insensitive is too insensitive?

How insensitive is too insensitive?

This is my first time posting on a relationship forum and I really hope I can find at the very least some words of encouragement from people in similar situations.

I have been in a relationship with my boyfriend for a year now. We've had a lot of ups and a lot of downs. I'm both blessed and cursed by being able to forgive and forget easily, and I've gotten over most of our issues and disagreements. But the thing that I can't seem to forget is how insensitive my boyfriend is to my feelings. I won't lie, I'm a deeply emotional person (I blame it on astrology and heredity) and I'll admit my emotional expectations are higher than most males can dish out. However, it seems that no matter how much I voice my feelings and communicate my issues with my boyfriend, he keeps doing the same things over and over to bring down our relationship. We don't fight about many different things, but we fight about the same issues constantly, with no solution. All I get at the end of an argument is "I'm sorry. I'm trying to be a better boyfriend." After a year and no signs of change, I'm quickly losing hope. It's not a secret that my boyfriend is completely incapable of communicating, whether it's something as superficial as making plans for dinner, or something deeper. He never has anything to say and can't put any of his feelings into words. I know that most guys have this problem, but I figured if he can't say it, maybe he can show it. I'm still waiting for either.