+ Follow This Topic

Thread: he didnt say "i love you" back....am i wasting my time?

he didnt say "i love you" back....am i wasting my time?

hey this is my first time posting on this site but i really need some advice.
    been with this guy for a good 6 months now, but we have been good friends for at least 5 years before we decided to be together. its a great relationship. we get on so well, we enjoy each others company, he seems to be a very loving person, will always go out his way to make sure im ok, tell me im pretty and beautiful, regular txts and phonecalls.....but a few weeks ago, i blurted out the 3 big words....I LOVE YOU....was very much in the heat of the moment, we were having a carry one and he was making me laugh so much. the thing is i know i love him, there is no doubt about that, infact i have loved this guy for years! just never told him
    but basically, when i sed it he didnt say anything bk, nothing, just went silent and gave me a cuddle....obviously i got upset....we spoke about it a lot and he sed that love is a big step....or a bond....but i sed to him i disagree, to me its just a feeling, a feeling that i have had for a long time with him. i thought he was gonna run away scared after this, and i was having second thoughts too, why stay with someone who doesnt feel the same. but when i gave it more thought i realised i was being childish and immature, i told him its not the end of the world, that its early days. and that i see no point giving up on something i have waited so long for. he agreed and we r still together, was awkward for the forst few days but all is back to normal now. tho i still think he has all this on his mind now. i told him there is no pressure. cause thats the great thing about this relationship, there is no pressure with anything, its so easy but basically a few friends have sed i am wasting my time....i disagree, i think i should give it time, i thnk he is worth it. i need some opinions please