+ Follow This Topic

Thread: How do i convince my girlfriend to support my decision to join the marine corps?

How do i convince my girlfriend to support my decision to join the marine corps?

i have dreamed of being a marine since i was 5 years old and have recently been talking with my girlfriend about my dream of joining the marines, and she says if i join then shes not sure if she would stay with me. im 17 and i plan to go to ocs while im in college, so after college ill be an officer. i have tried to convince her to support me, but she still says that she is unsure. she says that she doesn't want to live for long periods alone and shes afraid that i might get killed, which is understandable, but i know the risks and i still want to join. i have told her about some of the benefits, and as an officer i would be getting good pay, but im not sure of what else i could say to convince her. i really want to stay in a relationship with her but i also want to fulfill my dream of becoming a marine.

vashti is offline Hot love muffin guru
    Users Country Flag
    "Hot Love Pancake(s)"
    YOu are going to have to choose. That's really all there is to it. She has a right to decide what kind of life she wants to have.
    Relax... I'll need some information first. Just the basic facts - can you show me where it hurts?

Yes you will be gone A LOT. Especially in these times, and with with size of the armed forces drawing down. And especially in the first couple of years while they are training you all up.

If this is what you want, you will need to pick a spouse wisely. Someone is is independent, loyal, and supportive. And when you are home, you need to treat her right to make up for the fact you take off all of the time. And maybe someday if you do settle down and need more time at home, you can do the reserves.

I don't mean to make your current relationship sound trifle, but these are my thoughts.