+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Frustrated With My Body

Frustrated With My Body

Hey everybody. This post is mostly just cause I need to rant, but feel free to give advice if you've been in a similar situation.

I've been working out at a gym for about three months. The exercise I've gotten in the past has been things like martial arts, belly dancing and tennis; this is the first time I've done dedicated weight lifting.

I go about three times a week and work out for about an hour. I do the stairmaster for about 10-15 minutes for some basic aerobic workout (I do my martial arts stuff to get more aerobic workouts, as I HATE running/stepping in place for an extended period of time.) The rest of the time I do exercises for chest/arms, legs, or shoulder/back, depending on what muscle group is in rotation.

I know that SOMETHING is happening, as I am losing some body fat and I'm able to increase weights and reps on my exercises. However, I don't LOOK any different. I still weigh the same, and the last two monthly evaluations with my trainer, I've only lost a total of 2 inches (one of which was my bust.... GREAT.) I'm also not gaining any inches either.

The worst part though is that I don't look like I'm working out. I'm still chunky and flabby. At a girls' night a few days ago, some of the women were snickering that girls they didn't like from high school had gotten fat, and were going on and on about how the obesity epidemic is happening because fat people are just lazy.

I feel really ashamed about my body. I work hard at trying to improve it... Alongside the gym three times a week, I also do belly dancing for two hours and martial arts for one to two hours every week. I know I'm getting healthier, but I'm not looking any better!

It kind of makes me want to give up, as I feel like I'm chasing after something unattainable (a better looking body.)

Anybody feel the same/had a similar experience?