+ Follow This Topic

Thread: In love with someone out of my league.

In love with someone out of my league.

Dear Forum,

Thanks for taking the time to read my post and possibly help me work out what I should do about my situation,

This is going to be a long story, but I'll try to write as legibly as possible so you ladies can actually understand what I'm writing. Basically, the jist of this story is that I need to figure out whether my feelings for someone are well founded, or just some kind of odd rebound. Let me know what you think, please.

I'm 24 at this moment, but the story goes back about a year and a half... November of 2009. During that time, I was in a relationship that I'd been in for 6 years, with a girl that I'd been with since I was 17. Our relationship had slowly soured, and I believe that I hung on to it because I never thought I'd be able to find another girlfriend (low self-esteem for you, eh?)

Anyway, I'm a veterinary technician. Recently, at the animal hospital I work at, we had hired a new doctor, on her first day there, I thought she was a tech herself, because she is so young (also looks younger than she actually is). I think she thought that I was around her age, and it seemed to me that she was interested in me (could be my imagination). Later in that day, I found out she was a doctor, and she found out I was younger than her. The day is very memorable to me, because she made such a big impression on me, and because from the start, I had a crush on her (at the least). During this time, like I said, the relationship with my girlfriend (we'll call the first girlfriend Martha) was souring.