+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Oh

Oh

Here's the skinny: I'm a talker, this won't be short and sweet, but kudos if you manage to read it all AND get back to me with something that opens my eyes a little.

Disclaimer: I tend to be in denial. Always. I want, I want, and I shall have. I will make excuses for the people I love, ignore their misgivings and mistakes because I love them, and allow them to get away with anything, always making it my fault. They say the first step is admitting your problem..that's my problem, but I'm not really ready to solve it yet!

My situation:
    I am 22 years old. I've had a slew of crappy relationships, I've done a lot of dumping, the guys who need replacement mamas always seem to find me because I'm awesome at taking care of people, it's what I do for a living.

I met a guy when I was ten years old, his name is Chris. Chris and I were neighbors when I was a little girl. Chris graduated high school when I was 12 years old, went into the Army, and promptly married the girl he was dating in high school.

Fast forward eleven years, two children, and a handful of deployments later, they're getting a divorce.
    I've been led to believe that it's due to his PTSD and his lack of general emotion. He's really always been this way, a mans man etc.

So she asked him for a divorce and he moved out to let her and his sons stay in their home. He came home to our hometown.
    Randomly we reconnected after eleven years via the internet, and he asked me out to dinner. Neither of us expected anything at all to come of this one dinner date. We were wrong, me especially.

It's been a few months since we started going out quite often, and admittedly, against my better judgment, sleeping together.
    Not that I'm not fully enjoying myself, I'm just more the relationship type, not the hook up, or friends with bennies type.