+ Follow This Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dating a single mom - advice needed

Dating a single mom - advice needed

My rap sheet - financially secure, educated, divorced 3x, yep 3x! I'm an engineer. Met a beautiful female scientist who works near me. She motivated me to move out of my condo from my soon to be ex (very amicable divorce). The ex and I were short selling anyway and saving money. Both of us were already dating. Divorce is final soon and we have no lawyers or kids between us.

Anyway, after a bunch of first dates, I meet this scientist. A widow and single mother. Her parents, from China, are living with her and helping her raise her 10 year old daughter.

She is very interested in me and was very happy that I moved out to get my own place finally. Classy woman who refused to sleep with me until I 'moved out' and rightly so.

She has made it clear that she's busy with raising her daughter and having a very successful career. She is secure and doesn't 'need me' but admits it would be nice to have a partner to help raise her daughter.

Honestly, I have 2 grown sons myself and was there for at least 12 years of their childhood fulltime, so I know the stress it can be.

I showered her with attention and took her out for her birthday. She was very thankful and wanted to be exclusive. I told her I was happy with that and that I wouldn't mind being a father to her child (after meeting her of course, lol).

Here's the thing...we only see each other once or twice at week, with only a 2 -5 hour window of time. 3 months dating total.

The intimacy, to put it bluntly, is awkward for me and I couldn't perform, lol, because of the pressure of time constraints.

I understand her concerns about getting to know me and making sure we're compatible, but...can you really know someone well based on our level of contact? 2 dates max a week? 2-5 hours each?