+ Follow This Topic

Thread: unusual flirting

unusual flirting

I'm a slightly unusual person. I've had a lot of experiences in my life. I've worked in a few gay bars, and been hospitalised a few times for mental illness, and this year graduated from an undergraduate degree in literature. I have an unusual appearance which definitely attracts attention but not in a mainstream way (I don't tick all the boxes - just some of them). I'm gay and in my late 20's and although I have a lot of drive and ambition in my life, at this point I probably appear to be a bit of a loser from the outside, as I work in a bookstore and live at home. I'm proud of who I am and the things I've achieved but I don't expect anyone else to be. I'm a pretty introverted and quiet person and mainly keep to myself.

Over a period of about four months this year I was the target of some fairly intense flirting from a customer in my store. This particular customer seemed to always be around in the store, all the time. He was tall, muscly, handsome, and dreamy looking. When I first noticed that he was always there I felt annoyed by it, but afterwards I realised I liked to see him there. He wouldn't pay any attention to me, he would just browse the books, but there was a nice feeling about him. After a while he seemed to be always in the area I was working, almost as though he was following me around. He was there regularly on the days I worked and usually would be there at the time I arrived at work.

One day he wasn't there when I arrived at work as I had come to expect him to be and I was disappointed but then I found a long pink rose in one of the areas where I often work and also a long synthetic poppy smelling strongly of perfume in one of the areas where he often would stand. He came back ten days later and I felt happy. He was standing behind a fixture and I looked away, and when I looked back he was standing there staring at me. I broke into a grin and looked away and he left the store.