+ Follow This Topic

Thread: online dating?

online dating?

After a breakup with my last boyfriend of a few months (who has clearly moved on), I have decided it'll be time to put myself on the market soon.

My friend who set me up with the last one wanted to help me set up a profile online on a dating site. I have never tried this method of dating before and don't know what to think of it (I was set up with my last boyfriend because of our personalities, long term marriage, and dated couple of friends back in high school. Not much experience, lol. And no online experience)

Some people I know tell me this is the way to go because of matching personalities and having a better chance of finding love (One of them even met her husband that way). Others tell me I'd be nuts, and it could lead to meeting someone who's not what they say and extremely picky men that'll get bored, go online, and replace me.

Any advice on online dating from people who have actually done this? Including postitives and negatives with paid sites vs free sites (I'm not rich)

The last 4 relationships I was in, started from an online dating sites. Respectively, they lasted for 3 years; 6 months; 2.5 years; and the last one 3.5 years. Was living together with the last two. I always use free sites. And I don't know whether I was just lucky, or online dating sites wasn't a bad idea after all. I personally choose to find love online because I don't have much time to go out and meet new people because of work. My advice is, try with the free sites first and see how it goes. Good luck.

I Have mixed feelings about it. online can lead to alot of burn out depening on the people but i will say the ones online want what they say they want, in person sumtimes people are unsure of their wants.

i havent use online as a tool to meet women since 2008. but its not somthing im ruling out either, just on fence about it right now.

It's a hit or miss, there are no guarantees ever.