+ Follow This Topic

Thread: Can relationship be salvaged

Can relationship be salvaged

I met a girl about 6 months ago and we started dating. About 4 months ago it became a relationship.

When I met this girl she told me that she was moving away for work soon so I initially was hesitant to get involved but she told me that we could make a long distance relationship work. She went to work in Leeds at the start of September and she came home every weekend to see me. The main problem is that she says she hates living round here and never wants to move back, even though her family is all here. I have no intentions of moving away as my family and job are here. Also, if I ever had kids I'd want my family round to support us.

However, I became concerned that the longer I was seeing her the more upset I'd be if the relationship ended so I've been pushing her away for the last 3 months. It all came to a head 2 weeks ago and the relationship ended.

I am now really regretting pushing her away and ending the relationship. She says that when things are over for her that is it! We've still been texting and talking on the phone. I told her last week that if she wants to get back the door is open and that I wouldn't push her away anymore. I think that she has moved away to run away from a 5 year relationship ending in December 2010 in which she lost her house, etc. I think in time she would probably consider moving back here to be with me. We really get on well, have amazing sex, and can talk for hours!

Do you think there is any chance of salvaging this? What advice do you have for the best way to proceed?